by Christina Yeager
Thinking about homeschooling your child in Colorado? Then, you've come to the right place! We have scoured the internet and invaded the pages of the Colorado Department of Education to bring you the most current information needed in order to get started with a homeschooling program.
Each state is the U.S. has a very specific set of regulations for homeschooling. If you are thinking about teaching your child at home, you'll need to know the ins and outs of what needs to be done beforehand and during. In this series, Homeschooling Regulations by State, we'll explore information to help with the decision, what to do to get started and what to do correctly to continue.
Information on homeschooling laws in Colorado.
Compulsory School Age
All children the age of 6 years by August 1st of that year and 17 years of age must be enrolled in school in the State of Colorado.
Homeschooling must be overseen by a parent, legal guardian or relative capable of teaching. Testing for grades 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11 are mandatory to evaluate the student's progress of learning. Standardized testing may be used and the scores must be reported to the local school district. The testing is to be conducted by a certified teacher, a teacher employed by a private school, a licensed psychologist or someone with a graduate degree in education.
Children may be enrolled in an established independent school to teach under the supervision of the schools' instructors.
A parent, guardian or designated person assigned by the parent, etc. that holds teaching certification may instruct a homeschooled child.
Formally Withdrawing From Public School
A written letter of Intent to Homeschool should be sent annually two weeks prior to the beginning of homeschooled instruction date to the local school districts' superintendent. This letter should include the child's name, age, residence and attendance hours of each child participating in a homeschooling program.
Other Important Things To Consider
Attendance records are required by the State of Colorado and reported to the local school district.
Colorado state law insists that Language Arts (reading, writing, literature, etc.), Social Studies (civics), Mathematics, Science and U.S. History be included but not limited homeschooling curriculum.
Instruction must be at least 172 days per school year and no less than 4 hours per day.
Immunizations records are required for homeschooled children. Records must be presented yearly with the Intent to Homeschool written letter.
Are you a homeschooler (new or veteran) seeking to share insight? Read our guidelines and then reach out introducing yourself to obtain blogging credentials! And if you're a homeschool parent, be sure to follow the Homeschooling Heroes page on Facebook for tons of resources and insight, and join the Unschool Homeschool group to expand your horizons as to what homeschooling is/can be. And finally, if you're looking for activities to join, we have a group with New Orleans-based activities, which will be expanding to an area near you - so join our group! And be excited about that, because we offer tons of exceptional educational and extracurricular activities for homeschoolers and parents, and can't wait to include you.