by Christina Yeager
Homeschooling requires organization, determination, vigilance and knowledge. That’s what we are here to give you! Knowledge. Knowing where, how and when to start with home education is an important step of the process. If you’ve been wondering where to begin to homeschool your child or children in the State of Connecticut, you’re in the right place. We have the information you need to prepare all necessary documents and filings, who to contact and approximates dates per year you should know about in Connecticut.
Each state is the U.S. has a very specific set of regulations for homeschooling. If you are thinking about teaching your child at home, you'll need to know the ins and outs of what needs to be done beforehand and during. In this series, Homeschooling Regulations by State, we'll explore information to help with the decision, what to do to get started and what to do correctly to continue.
Connecticut laws and regulations for homeschooling.
Compulsory School Age
Connecticut state laws dictate that children between the ages of 5 and 18 must be enrolled in the public school system unless they are instructed elsewhere. This means, if you decide to homeschool your children, the school age for attendance can easily be changed from 7 years to 16 years of age. In order to pause instruction or exempt your 17-year-old that has already graduated, you must file a form.
However, in order to be compliant with state law, you must personally visit the local school district office in your area and sign an option form to exempt your child from attending home classes in the years 5, 6 and 17 and older. Once signed, the form must be stamped and carry the school district superintendent's mark.
Homeschooling must be carried out by a parent, guardian or trusted individual capable of teaching. There are curriculum requirements for the State of Connecticut listed in the "Curriculum" section below.
Formally Withdrawing From Public School
If your child is already attending public school, you will need to write a Letter of Withdrawal and present it to the school your child attends.
A completed Notice of Intent must be filed within the district superintendent's office before home-based instruction can start. This must be done 10 days before the scheduled date you set to begin homeschooling. Failure to file the proper paperwork can result in a breach of school truancy laws.
Recording Keeping and Reporting
An annual report is mandatory between parents and school officials. During this review attendance and instruction will be reviewed to make sure it complies with state rules.
Other Important Things To Consider
Please, take the time to contact your local school district superintendent if you have questions or concerns.
Obviously, attendance is needed in order to complete the required curriculum desired by the state and to ensure instruction is up to par per grade equivalence.
The following subjects are required within the State of Connecticut's curriculum:
⦁ English Grammar
⦁ United States History
⦁ U.S. Citizenship
⦁ Town, State, and Federal Governments
There are no specifics on instruction to homeschooled children. As long as the necessary subjects are studied and attendance is met.
No information is provided.
Are you a homeschooler (new or veteran) seeking to share insight? Read our guidelines and then reach out introducing yourself to obtain blogging credentials! And if you're a homeschool parent, be sure to follow the Homeschooling Heroes page on Facebook for tons of resources and insight, and join the Unschool Homeschool group to expand your horizons as to what homeschooling is/can be. And finally, if you're looking for activities to join, we have a group with New Orleans-based activities, which will be expanding to an area near you - so join our group! And be excited about that, because we offer tons of exceptional educational and extracurricular activities for homeschoolers and parents, and can't wait to include you.